The calm before …

November 11, 2005 § Leave a comment

Sitting on the plane from Rome to Tunisia, it was clear that this would be my last 90 minutes of solitude for at least a week.

The World Summit on the Information Society is at the other end of this flight,” I said to myself.  “Nine months of build up to the launch of is just around the corner. Relax. Breathe. Enjoy the solitude.”


How to relax? A freshly minted print out of Tim O’Reilly‘s September article about the meaning of Web 2.0 (I can’t believe it took this long to read it!). And, of course, the RamonesRocket to Russia. Loud. Peaceful. Really loud!

Coming off the plane and into the hotel taxi, I felt centred. And I wondered why? Probably because O’Reilly and the Ramones both have the kind of energy that drives me, that guides me in what I do. Each in their own eras, they were accidental pioneers with passion.

Watching a Tunisian bowling alley fly by out my window, I typed a staccato of O’ReillyRamones-inspired mantras for the coming week into my phone: Push the envelope. Be irreverent. Play fast. Have fun. Think smart. Stay humble. Relax. Breathe. Enjoy the chaos.

I will.

Over the Mediterranean, between Rome and Tunis

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The calm before … at commonspace.


