17,000 of my closest friends

November 11, 2005 § Leave a comment

I shouldn’t have been surprised when I heard: “Mark, is that you?” shouted from the other end of the bus.


It was Lauren Fok, long time APCer turned BCO lead and APCs new
operation manager, Estelle (who’s-last-name-I-don’t-know-yet). As I
scuttled to the back of the bus, Lauren’s phone beeped with a
have-you-arrived-safely? SMS from APC executive director Anriette

Less than 15 minutes in Tunis, and I felt like I was already at a gathering of friends. Maybe not 17,000 of my closest friends. But, certainly, at least 500 hundred folks that inspire me and (as Gunner would say) 16,500 friends I haven’t met yet.


That surrounded-by-people-with-common-cause-who-you-also-like-to-hang-with feeling gives me such a glow. Not just because it’s fun, but also because it’s what makes networks real and powerful. Re-reading Gideon Rosenblatt‘s Movement as Network paper earlier this week, I was reminded that I’m not the only one who thinks friendships and networks are one of the key ingredients that make networks work.

Despite all the pomp and circumstance, WSIS really does promise to be a place where this kind of human connection flows like a river. What a perfect place to launch a network.

Tunis, Tunisia

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading 17,000 of my closest friends at commonspace.


