Wet, and cool

August 22, 2005 § Leave a comment

Cape Town, South Africa

After almost two days of travel, I arrived in Cape Town today — a city I love. How is it? Rainy, dreary, cold … and exciting!

I’ve come here for meeting of South African telecentres, and also to attend part of the Community Informatics Research Network
(CIRN) conference. But, as I realized when I entered City Hall, there
is a whole Information Society Week going on, gathering everone from
mayors to business leaders to grassroots activists.


Today was Sangonet‘s Thetha event, with community technology people from across the Western Cape talking about the message that South African civil society wants to send to WSIS. It was an amazing gathering, filled with alot of energy, passion and hope for grassroots communication.

Tomorrow is a gathering of people from the South African telecentre movement that IDRC has sponsored. The buzz is building. I can’t wait.

PS. I am adding the words capetowntelecentre to my post in the hopes that it shows up on http://capetown.telecentre.org, one of our test sites.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wet, and cool at commonspace.


